Vigan Hailed Among ‘New7Wonders Cities of the World’

The Philippines heritage city of Vigan, Ilocos Sur has been selected as one of the New 7 Wonders Cities of the World. The Announcement was made last night via YouTube (December 8, 3 a.m. Manila time) by Bernard Weber, founder and president of New7Wonders.

Vigan one of the New7Wonders Cities of the World
Vigan one of the New7Wonders Cities of the World

The official winning cities are:

1. Beirut, Lebanon
2. Doha, Qatar
3. Durban, South Africa
4. Havana, Cuba
5. Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
6. La Paz, Bolivia
7. Vigan, Philippines

Aside from the seven winners, other cities that made it in the top 14 are: Barcelona (Spain), Chicago (United States), London (United Kingdom), Mexico City (Mexico), Perth (Australia), Quito (Ecuador), and Reykjavik (Iceland).

Winning the contest is surely another feat for the Philippines as the winners were selected from over 1,200 nominees from 220 countries.

During the voting period, the whole province of Ilocos Sur made an all-out campaign for Vigan City as it took the challenge of snagging a spot in the New7Wonders Cities of the World. The Department of Tourism also supported the global campaign, encouraging all Filipinos to vote via text as well as via New7Wonders’ website, applications and postcards. And indeed, the efforts paid off.

Announcing the names of the winning cities, Weber said: “I would like to thank everyone who have helped promote the New7Wonders Cities campaign since its inception in 2011. We began with more than 1,200 nominees from 220 different countries and here have 7 that represent the global diversity of urban society. For the first time in human history, more than half of our planet’s population lives in cities and this election emphasizes the dramatically challenging character of our changing world.

The results of the contest are based on votes and, according to the New7Wonders, the results will now be checked, validated and independently verified. After the verification process, the New7Wonders will set out to organize the official inauguration of the winning cities.

“We congratulate each of these cities on achieving their New7Wonders status, and we look forward to celebrating their election to the ‘canon of 7’ with their citizens in 2015. The New7Wonders Cites will now join the New7Wonders of Nature and the New7Wonders of the World in becoming part of Global Memory for humanity for ever,” Weber said.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.