Team Juan Big Fight conquers Juan for Fun Backpacker Challenge 2015

The much-awaited result of the 2015 Cebu Pacific’s Juan for Fun Backpacker Challenge 2015 has finally been announced last July 1, in Davao, the last destination for all the five teams. The rule for the adventure-filled challenge was simple—the team with the most number of activities participated, adventures discovered, and experiences gained, with the given allowance of Php 35 000, gets to win!

Overall Winner Team Juan Big Fight with Coach Iya Villania
Overall Winner Team Juan Big Fight with Coach Iya Villania

After eight days (from June 23 to July 1) of exploring Bangkok, Thailand first, and then Cebu Pacific’s local destinations Cebu, Camiguin, and Cagayan de Oro, the winner of the Juan for Fun Backpacker Challenge 2015, with the title “the Ultimate Backpacker”, was Team Juan Big Fight. Coached by Iya Villania, Team Juan Big Fight was composed of the three 20-year old college students Aaron Crisostomo, Asia Wy, and Kyle Favis from Ateneo de Manila University.

Aaron, Kyle, and Asia with their adventure coach, #CoachIya when #TeamJuanBigFight was announced as the Ultimate Backpackers
Aaron, Kyle, and Asia with their adventure coach, #CoachIya when #TeamJuanBigFight was announced as the Ultimate Backpackers

Team Juan Big Fight surely took on one big fight as the members completed a total of 115 activities, adventures, and experiences across their chosen Cebu Pacific local destinations within the allotted budget, making them the “Ultimate Backpackers” for this year’s Juan for Fun Backpacker Challenge.

The three “Ultimate Backpacker(s)” each won the promised 12 roundtrip tickets to either international or domestic Cebu Pacific destinations, a Canon PowerShot SX600 camera, a Samsung Tab 3 Lite courtesy of Smart Bro, and Php 30 000 worth of gift tickets for Boreas Travel Gear. That’s almost a year-worth of travel goodies!

The team’s coach said that she expected the victory of Juan Big Fight, because she saw them as “very competitive and all into an adventure.”

Team Juan Big Fight
Team #JuanBigFight with Blessie Cruz, CEB Director for Advertising and Promotions

Coming in at second place was Team Extreme, coached by Joyce Pring. The members of this team were Gio Tiongson from Ateneo de Manila University, and Miguel and Luigi Manalang from de La Salle University.

Third place was taken by Team Domaro, coached by Jude Bacalso. Doel Lozano from Notre Dame Dadiangas University, Marielle Padilla from ACA Sargen, and Rogen Sagarino from MSU-GenSan, made up the team’s DoMaRo.

The last two teams were Lui Pio-coached Team Square, composed of architecture students Cheloi Marasigan, Mischa de Guzman, and Tae Argallon from the University of Santo Tomas; and Team Iskapade, composed of University of the Philippines Cebu students Jassy Tomol, Joyce Gonzales, and Kat Locsin, which were coached by Bogart the Explorer.

The recently-concluded Juan for Fun Backpacker challenge is the first time in four years where the five teams have the liberty to choose their own Philippine destinations during the contest proper.

Participants with the previous winners
Participants with the previous winners

Cebu Pacific VP for Marketing and Distribution Candice Iyog said in the send-off party last June 23 that “In each Cebu Pacific Juan for Fun challenge, our student teams get to experience a lot of firsts. It can be their first time on a plane, in a new destination, being responsible for itineraries or travel budgets, or traveling with friends. It’s what makes the challenge more memorable and meaningful for everyone involved.”

The participants surely enjoyed the challenge, and let’s hope that the Backpacker Challenge will continue on its fifth year this 2016.

Cebu Pacific’s Juan for Fun Backpacker challenge 2015 is supported by the Philippine Department of Tourism, and the Tourism Authority of Thailand. The contest is also co-presented by GetGo, Nissin Yakisoba, and sponsored by Smart Bro, Boreas Travel Gear, and Canon.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.