7,107 Island hopping made easy with RORO

Traveling throughout the Philippines’ 7,107 islands has never been easier, thanks to the Road Roll-on/Roll-off (RORO) Terminal System (RRTS), a nationwide transport system that continues to be a boon to Philippine tourism and trade.

The RRTS connects various provinces across the islands throughout the Philippines, thus facilitating public access to popular tourist summer destinations such as Boracay, Puerto Galera, Mactan, Panglao Island, Camiguin, Siargao Island, and Dakak. This land-sea linked connection also significantly reduces the cost of travel as travelers can drive and bring their cars aboard RORO-passenger ferries.

DBP Interisland Race Route
DBP Interisland Race Route

Upon reaching the port of destination, the cars can simply “roll-off” the ferry and continue travel via land. Bus liners also offer multiple daily trips across the country, with private van transport available from port to port. RORO-PAX ferries also accept walk-on passengers.

To showcase the significant role of the RRTS in facilitating a faster, cheaper, and more efficient transport system for goods and people, the Development Bank of the Philippines (DBP) once again mounts its action-packed “Ready, Set, RORO!” DBP Interisland Race that will hit interesting local tourist destinations across the islands on its fourth run.

The ”Ready, Set, RORO!” DBP Interisland Race – Year 4 is set to be a hot summer adventure race that will feature favorite and interesting summer island destinations in the country using the RRTS, a major component of the Bank’s Sustainable Logistics Development Program (SLDP) that is aimed at modernizing the country’s infrastructure and logistics system for the efficient transport of passengers and basic commodities.

As participants dash from one pit stop to another, the race will showcase local products and tourist attractions. The race will also show the integration of land and sea travel for both walk-on passengers and those who prefer to bring their private vehicles.
The race is open to all Filipinos aged 18 years and above, who must be licensed drivers, know how to swim and bike, and have no fear of heights. Qualified applicants must form teams of two members and download the application form at www.dbprororace2009.com. Application forms are also available at the DBP head office in Makati City and all DBP branches nationwide. Application period is until April 24, 2009 only. A celebrity participant will also be assigned as the third member of the team.

The race, set on May 15-20, will feature 10 teams in a series of challenges across specific points in the race route that include Surigao del Norte, Leyte, Cebu, Negros Occidental, Iloilo, Aklan, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, and Batangas. After each leg, the team that incurred the lowest score or was last to finish a task will be eliminated, except on predetermined, non-elimination legs. Only four teams will advance to Manila, where only three teams will fight it out in the final leg.

A grand prize of P1 million awaits the winning team, while the 1st runner-up and 2nd runner-up teams will win P500,000 and P300,000, respectively. Each eliminated team will get P30,000. All cash prizes are tax-free.

For more information, call 8137635 or 8138723, or log on to www.dbprororace2009.com . For inquiries, email dbprororace2009@gmail.com.

  1. ictor J. says

    I liked reading your blog…keep up the good work.

  2. Boracay says

    This is great. An easy way of traveling/touring the country. Hope this’ll last.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: